top of page

REVIEW- Take Me To Church (Cover by Jasmine Thompson)

A brilliant interpretation of Hozier's Take Me To Church. This song is special to me because it was the first Jasmine Thompson song I ever listened to!

I stumbled across it searching for Hozier's Take Me To Church video on Youtube. Jasmine's video was one of the videos listed on the right sidebar, I clicked on it and started to listen.

Jasmine's rendition blew me away. It was such a unique take on the original, and sung SO beautifully. I was instantly captivated by her distinctively smoky AND ethereal voice.

I have listened to a lot of female singers throughout my life, and I had never quite heard anyone sing quite like Jasmine. I immediately listened to several of her other songs, and I was totally hooked. Jasmine is now my favorite singer, not just on Youtube, but among all singers I listen to.

The song is a brilliant mix of serenity and intensity. In its powerful moments, Jasmine expresses that righteous anger against bigotry. In its softer moments, Jasmine expresses empathy for those who commit "the gentle sin."

My favorite part of the song is when Jasmine sings the "amens" prior to the chorus. She sings them so angelically, so crystal-pure, it takes one's breath away.

It's not surprising that the Youtube video for this song has over 4 million views in 9 weeks, making it Jasmine's most 2015 release to date.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page